Author: Bernardo Bellotto "Widok Warszawy od strony Pragi"


"Yeast - The Omni-Tool"

Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the International Commission for Yeasts and the Conference Local Organizing and International Scientific Committees, it is our great pleasure to welcome you to the 38th International Specialized Symposium on Yeasts (ISSY38). The symposium will be held as an in-person event from 1 to 5 September 2025 in Warsaw, Poland.

It is the first time in the symposium’s 60-year history that it will be held in Poland. The symposium is jointly organized by the International Commission on Yeasts (ICY), the Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics Polish Academy of Sciences, the Wrocław University of Environmental and Life Sciences, and the Biology Department of the University of Warsaw. The venue of ISSY38 will be the beautiful, historical University of Warsaw campus.

The theme of the ISSY38 conference is Yeast – the Omni-Tool. We believe such a theme will bring together a broad cross section of investigators working on various yeast species, researchers in basic science and industry scientists, and students, allowing them to share their latest discoveries. It will facilitate and encourage communication between the international yeast society and Polish yeast communities, as many Polish universities and institutes have strong and rapidly growing research teams studying fundamental and applied aspects of yeast biology and biotechnology.

Warsaw is an attractive and affordable destination. The conference venue is located right in the center of the city, close to all major attractions, including the historic Old Town and King’s Palace. Therefore, attending the ISSY38 conference will also provide an opportunity to get acquainted with Warsaw’s past and present.

We look forward to seeing you in Warsaw,

Chairs of the Organizing Committee for ISSY38:


Adrianna Skoneczna


Zbigniew Lazar

Laboratory of Genome Stability Mechanisms
Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics,
Polish Academy of Sciences
Warsaw, Poland
Department of Biotechnology and Food Microbiology
Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences
Wrocław, Poland


Scientific Committee


Adrianna Skoneczna  &  Zbigniew Lazar (Poland)


Brenda Andrews (Canada)


Michael Lisby (Denmark)

Florian F. Bauer (RPA)


Diethard Mattanovich (Austria)

Paola Branduardi (Italy)


Vivien Measday (Canada)

Francisco Carrau (Uruguay)


John Morrissey (Ireland)

Terrence G. Cooper (USA)


Andrei Sibirny (Ukraine)

Daniel J. Klionsky (USA)


Matthias Sipiczki (Hungary)

Lumir Krejci (Czech Republic)


Verena Siewers (Sweden)

Martin Kupiec (Israel)


Hiroshi Takagi (Japan)

Rodrigo Ledesma-Amaro (UK)


Ľubomír Tomáška (Slovakia)

Local Committee


Adrianna SkonecznaTeresa Żołądek & Marek Skoneczny (Institute of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences)

Zbigniew Lazar (Wroclaw University of Environmental and Life Sciences)

Joanna Kufel & Michał Koper (University of Warsaw)

Ewelina Celińska (Poznan University of Life Sciences)

Renata Zadrąg-Tęcza & Maciej Wnuk (Rzeszow University)